Kemp | Glossary of Terms and Phrases

Federal Identity Smart Cards

Federal Identity Smart Cards (FISC) are issued by various branches of the United States government to staff and contractors so that they can identify and authenticate themselves on facilities and IT systems. There are various types of FISC including PIV (Personal Identity Verification), CAC (Common Access Card) used by the Department of Defense, and the TWIC (Transport Worker Identification Credential). KEMP LoadMaster provides support for all these types of FISC authentication to IT systems when you are using LoadMaster front end servers in your network security and authentication model. PKI certificate authentication is used to secure client access. FISC systems use the specifications outlined in the Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 201 document.
Back to Glossary

Start Powering Your Always-on Application Experience Today

30-Day Free Trial Contact Sales